Committee Members

We are grateful for the more than 100 volunteers that give back to the community by serving on United Way committees. They are crucial to our mission and success! If you are interested in volunteering with United Way, give us a call at 217-352-5151 to talk about a potential match for your unique skills.


Oversees the fiscal health of our organization, including our budget, audit and tax filings.


Oversees the organization's Impact Grant process and monitors community conditions.


Works to grow our annual fundraising campaign and build a deep connection with our supporters.


Oversees the Emerging Community Leaders program and ECL alumni engagement.


Ensures our organization is communicating effectively with our donors and the community.


Mobilizing women to engage with United Way for progress and community change.


Finance Committee

Julie Shapland, University of Illinois - Chair

Sharon Allen, Sterling Wealth Management

Frank Johnston, Inman & Fitzgibbons, Ltd.

Charlie Osborne, BankChampaign, N.A.

Michael Vittone, CliftonLarsonAllen


Community Impact Committee


Caitlin Drake - Busey*


Deidra Almaroad - Women United

Caitlin Drake – Busey Bank

Mark Driscoll – Champaign County Mental Health Board and Developmental Disabilities Board

John Humlicek - University of Illinois

Sandy Klitzing - Illinois State University, Retired

Wynne Korr- University of Illinois

Carla McCowan* - University of Illinois

Sheri McKiernan - OSF Healthcare

Sara Olson - University of Illinois

Carolyn Petersen - Community Volunteer

Denise Poindexter - University of Illinois

Blair Rowitz* - Carle

Jenn Smist - University of Illinois

Kerri Wiman – City of Champaign


* Indicates UWCC Board Member


Sue Grey- President & CEO

Beverley Baker- Director, Community Impact

Amy Huang - Community Impact Associate


Resource Development Committee

Greg Anderson, Chair

Workplace Campaigns Division

Greg Anderson, U of I Employees Credit Union

Pam Bigler, Carle Foundation Hospital

Brian Holding, Human Kinetics

Pat Kovar, Community Member

John Olson, Federal Companies

Andy Quarnstrom, Champaign Firefighters and Champaign Township Supervisior

Rush Record, Champaign County CASA

Sarah Zehr, University of Illinois, Office of Public Engagement


Emerging Community Leaders Advisory Committee 


Sophie Becker, Community Member

Justin Gensler, Illinois National Bank

Andrew Hohn, University of Illinois

Kara Johnson - University of Illinois

Katie Johnston - University of Illinois

John Olson, UWCC Board Representative - Federal Companies 

Ross Richards - University of Illionis Foundation

Charlee Lin- Busey Wealth Management

Jhane Reifsteck - Reifsteck Reid

Betsy Rodriquez, University of Illinois

Bryan Snodgras - Busey

Cayla Waters, University of Illinois



Marketing Committee

Cynthia Bruno, Co-Chair - Busey

Dave Wetherell, Co-Chair - Cozad Asset Management


Women United Committee

Deidra Almaroad - Community Member

Gianina Baker - University of Illinois

Kayla Banks - Carle

Julie Dorner - YG Financial

Meg Edwards - University of Illinois

Carrie Eisenmenger - Northwestern Mutual

Theresa Green - Carle

Jacque Schweighart - University of Illinois Foundation

Brooke Starks - Meyer Capel

Stephanie Stuart - Parkland College